Our Mission

MaineAEYC promotes high-quality early learning for all children, birth through age 8, by connecting practice, policy, and research. We advance a diverse, dynamic early childhood profession and support all who care for, educate, and work on behalf of young children and families.


"I joined

MaineAEYC when I was working on my CDA.  The resources I received helped propel me towards a Master’s degree, and once I was finished with that program, I was looking for ways to get involved on another level.  Being on the board has given me many opportunities to learn, connect with others in the field, and get more involved in advocating for the profession."

– Elizabeth Richards, MaineAEYC Board President

appeal letter 8.jpg

Our Team

our Executive Director

Tara Williams is the Executive Director of MaineAEYC. She has taught in public school and private programs with children from birth to grade 3, beginning in the DC Public Schools and most recently at the Bowdoin College Children’s Center. Tara was a research analyst at the National Council on Teacher Quality. She has coached and mentored teachers and presented workshops at regional and national conferences. Tara served on a school board of a public charter school for several years. She received a bachelors in Early Childhood Education from Boston University and a masters in Early Childhood Leadership and Administration from Bank Street College.

Feel free to reach out anytime with your thoughts, concerns, and questions.





Executive Director: Tara Williams

Administrative Services: Jennifer Camire

Communications Consultant: Sara Lennon

Accounting Services: Colleen Haley-Read

BOARD Leadership

President & Professional Learning Committee Chair: Elizabeth Richards, Teacher, Portland Nursery School

Vice President & Public Policy Committee Chair: Heather Marden, Preschool Teacher/Curriculum Coordinator, Birchwood Day Nursery School

Treasurer: Anne Adams, Associate Director, Bowdoin College Children’s Center

Secretary & Membership and Outreach Committee Chair: Sara Perrigo, Director, Heidi’s House Child Care Center

Development Chair: Emily Ruger, Executive Assistant, Children’s Museum & Theater of Maine

Board Members-at-large

Leigh Ann Fish, Assistant Professor of Early Childhood, University of Maine Farmington

Selina Greene Warren, Second Grade Teacher, Kingfield Elementary School

Cindy Manson, Former Assistant Director, The Children’s Place Early Care & Education Center

Kaitlyn Paulette, Parent Ambassador Alumni, Educare Central Maine

Pamela Thompson, Associate Professor of Early Childhood, Thomas College

Alison Britton, ECE Instructor, Region Two School of Applied Technology

April Humphrey, Early Childhood Educator, Jewish Community Alliance of Southern Maine, Goldman Family Preschool

Andrea Mercado, Education Consultant, PhD Student, University of Maine, Orono

Liz Koucky, Retired Public PreK Teacher, RSU 18, Sidney









P.O. Box 675
Yarmouth, ME 04096